SUMMER HOLIDAY PROJECT : NEEDLEPOINT

Summer Holiday project inspiration: Needlepoint! Via Dancers Road Blog

My Summer holiday has started this week (YAY!) and that gives me time to do creative things I normally don’t have time for. I’m always interested in crafting and needlework, in the past few years I’ve tried out sewing, crocheting, knitting and latch hooking but I must admit I usually quit those projects before they are finished. I’m an impatient person with a short short attention span and crafts projects like those usually take a lot of time. A couple of weeks ago I found an old crafts book from the seventies about needlepoint embroidery and I knew right away that I found this years summer project. I love needlepoint products, I have lot’s of vintage needlepoint pillows and even a table runner (boy the maker of that one must have been a persistent one ;-}). So I really wanted to try this technique out for myself. With my past needlework debacles in mind I knew that I had to start with something small (even though I was tempted to start making a big pillow). And with the help of the book and my mother, who seems to know all craft techniques of the world) I set up this design for embroidering a pencil case. And I must say; maybe I finally found my needlework technique! Because this is a lot easier and faster than I thought, there are many many different stitches and the possibilities of things you can make with this technique are endless as you can see in these pictures. I would really love to make a lamp holder like the one in the photos (love the bohemian colours and patterns) but hey, let’s finish this tiny one first ;-}.

What about you? Do you have any creative summer projects planned out for yourself? And does anyone of you have trouble finishing them?

The first few pictures are by me and the rest is from the book: Tapisserie – de kunst van het borduren op stramien by Mary Rhodes (it’s in Dutch).

Summer Holiday project Inspiration: Needlepointing! via Dancers Road Blog

Summer Holiday project Inspiration: Needlepointing! via Dancers Road Blog

 

Needlepoint via Dancers Road

Summer Holiday project Inspiration: Needlepointing! via Dancers Road Blog

Summer Holiday project Inspiration: Needlepointing! via Dancers Road Blog

Summer Holiday project inspiration: Needlepoint! Via Dancers Road Blog

 

 

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “SUMMER HOLIDAY PROJECT : NEEDLEPOINT

Leave a Reply

